From DCU Guide
Jump to: navigation, search
Created by Marv Wolfman and George Pérez

Crisis on Infinite Earths.png
The Original Universe


Name: Crisis on Infinite Earths
Main Title: Crisis on Infinite Earths
First Appearance: Crisis on Infinite Earths #1 (April 1985)
Creators: Marv Wolfman and George Pérez


A cataclysmic event, the so-called "Crisis on Infinite Earths" (also referred to as "the Crisis" or "First Crisis") saw the destruction of the multiverse, and the creation of a singular universe and timeline. Repercussions were felt from the Dawn of Time to the End of Time. This first Crisis was followed by numerous aftershocks, such as Zero Hour, Infinite Crisis and the Final Crisis.


Not yet available


A twelve issue limited series released to coincide with DC Comics' 50th anniversary, "Crisis on Infinite Earths" set out to streamline the DC Universe's history and eliminate the multiple variant Earths which were considered (by some) to be too confusing. Contradictions did occur, as characters including Hawkman and Wonder Woman were rebooted, though not immediately after the Crisis. Now on one merged Earth, older "Earth-Two" characters such as the Justice Society of America were soon shipped off to limbo, arguably to avoid confusion with their "Earth-One" modern namesakes.

"Zero Hour: Crisis in Time" was released ten years later, attempting to repair some of the Crisis discrepancies, but is perhaps better known for the death of many of the Justice Society after their return from Limbo.


This event was followed by Legends.

For a definitive list of Crisis on Infinite Earths in chronological order click here


For a list of indexed issues in this event click here


JLA in Crisis Secret Files #1 (November 1998)