Created by William Moulton Marston and Harry G. Peter and Revamped by George Pérez

The Original Universe


Official Name: Themyscira
Aliases: Paradise Island
First Appearance: (historical): All-Star Comics #8 (winter 1941)
(current): Wonder Woman Vol. 2 #1 (February 1987)
Creators: William Moulton Marston and Harry G. Peter; Revamped by George Pérez


The home of the Amazons, Themyscira is actually three different places, settled by the warrior women in different millennia.

The first Themyscira was a beautiful walled city which first served as their base to spread the goddesses message of wisdom and peace to mankind and then as their refuge from mankind's evils. When the tribe was split, the faction led by Queen Hippolyta was relocated by the gods to an island which they named in memory of their old city. In time (over the course of almost 3,000 years living here) the Amazons made this island truly beautiful, and it became known also as Paradise Island. Eventually the two tribes of Amazons were brought together on the island, the 'lost' half inhabiting the least fertile area of the land.

The Amazons attempted to use their island to prevent the destruction of Earth at the hands of Brainiac-13, and it was destroyed. But, as a gift of the gods, a new Themyscira was born, a network of islands above the Bermuda Triangle which act as a place of peace and learning for many races. This was later sent crashing down into the see by Hera, in a fit of pique at her husband, and currently resides in United States territorial waters.


Who's Who: The Definitive Directory of the DC Universe #17 (July 1986)

Who's Who: Update '87 #4 (November 1987)